Over 1,000 new laws will take effect this year in California, including many that are causes women have championed and will have a major impact on women, our children and the issues we care about. A fitting end to Governor Jerry Brown’s leadership.
A few notable examples:
Sweeping new laws bar juveniles younger than 16 from being tried as adults, even for murder, and keep children under 12 out of the criminal justice system unless they are charged with murder or rape.
Eliminates fees for requesting gun violence restraining orders and allows law enforcement officers who confiscate guns under the program to seize ammunition as well.
Domestic Violence and Firearms
Anyone convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence offense after January 1, 2019 is prohibited from possessing a firearm for the rest of their lives.
Guns and mental health
A lifetime firearm ban goes into effect in 2020 for anyone who has been hospitalized for a mental health issue more than once in a year.
Conceal Carry Weapon Permit Training
Gun owners with a concealed carry license are required to undergo a minimum of eight hours of training and demonstrate proficiency and safety on the shooting range. Before, concealed carry weapon applicants could get their permit without ever shooting a gun.
Long Gun Restrictions
Anyone younger than 21 is prohibited from purchasing a long gun, such as a rifle or shotgun, from a licensed firearms dealer. However, the law includes an exemption for law enforcement officers, members of the military and anyone who possesses a valid, unexpired hunting license.
Drunk Driving Ignition Interlock Devices
Californians found guilty of driving under the influence are required to temporarily install breathalyzers in their vehicles to get their driver’s licenses back. The bill was endorsed by Mothers Against Drunk Driving.
Allows public access to police records in use-of-force cases, as well as investigations that confirmed on-the-job dishonesty or sexual misconduct.
On October 1, 2019, California will replace its money-based bail system. The passage of Senate Bill 10 mandates state courts replace the current bail system with an algorithmic risk-assessment system to determine whether defendants can be released pre-trial.
The minimum wage rises to $12 for companies with 26 or more employees and $11 for smaller businesses as California phases in a $15 base hourly wage.
Criminal History and Applications for Employment
Employers will be allowed to ask an applicant, or another source, about a particular conviction of the applicant, if:
Board of Directors Equality
California becomes the first state to require publicly held corporations to have at least one woman on their boards of directors by the end of 2019 and two or more by 2021.
Overtime for Agricultural Workers
Mandates overtime payment for agricultural workers [working for employers who hire more than 25 workers] in their salaries. This regulation will slowly increase the wages for extra hours for agricultural employees over a period of four years.
Breastfeeding at Work
Requires employers to make reasonable efforts to provide a room or place for breastfeeding that is not a bathroom.
Protection Against Lawsuits in Cases of Harassment Complaints
Protection to people from the threat of a defamation lawsuit when a sexual harassment allegation to an employer is “based on credible evidence” and without malice. The law was passed after the state’s defamation laws were identified as sometimes deterring victims and witnesses from making complaints or communicating information about harassers to others. Also, it protects companies with knowledge of the harassing activity and allows them to warn other potential employers without the threat of a defamation lawsuit.
Spurred by the #MeToo movement, another new law bans private and public employers, including the state Legislature, from reaching secret settlements over sexual assault, harassment or discrimination.
Californians also can list their gender as “nonbinary” on their driver’s licenses, designated as the letter “X.”
Plastic Straw Ban
Restaurants statewide will give out single-use straws only upon request of customers. It applies to full-service dining establishments but exempts fast food restaurants. Restaurants violating the law could be fined $25 daily for violations, or a maximum of $300 per year.
Healthy Child Drinks in Restaurants
Children’s meals in restaurants that come with a drink must have a “healthy” beverage as the drink default option, such as milk, water, sparkling water or flavored water with no added natural or artificial sweeteners.
California’s utilities must generate 60 percent of their energy from wind, solar and other renewable sources by 2030, which is 10 percent higher than a previous mandate. Lawmakers set a goal of phasing out electricity from fossil fuels by 2045.
Raises the vehicle age requirement to get a smog check from 6 years old to 8 years old, but requires a $25 smog abatement fee for 7- and 8-year-old vehicles. The existing $12 fee for vehicles 6 years old and under remains in place.
The Trump administration is barred from expanding oil drilling off the California coast by blocking new pipelines and other supporting construction in state waters.